Get Help: The End of the New Country


The End of the New Country

CD $12.99  Add to Cart
MP3 $8.49  Add to Cart

A self-proclaimed “supergroup of unknown musicians,” Get Help makes gloomy but thoughtful guitar-rock that would fit comfortably in the post-punk era of the late ’70s and early ’80s. Get Help’s two primary members, Tony Skalicky and Mike Ingenthron, were in elementary school when bands like Joy Division were making music. But on their new CD, The End of the New Country, the duo cribs from post-punk with enough honesty and talent to keep from sounding like a cheap knock-off.

The End of the New Country opens on a somber note with “Traveler’s Shave Kit.” Plaintive guitar strums, gentle rhythms, a little slide guitar and mellotron set an appropriate tone for an album that scarcely cracks a smile over the course of 15 tracks.

The album’s title cut, like much of the CD, is full of resignation, as Skalicky sings about a world on the brink of collapse, with mobbed streets lined by burning buildings. “I think we’ve reached the end of the new country,” he sings. “And I think we know the rest of its history.” It’s grim, to be sure.

But it could also signal a new beginning: By the end of the album, with the dramatic squalls of feedback on the closer “Growing Circles,” the band seems to say that everything is going to be all right. “I am searching in growing circles,” Skalicky sings. “And I will find you, I am certain.”

Despite its darkness, The End of the New Country isn’t a downer, though it’s undeniably brooding and introspective. But there’s enough inspired beauty in the lyrics — and consistently impressive guitar work — to make the music uplifting at times.

Robin Hilton, National Public Radio

MDRF013 | October 2008 | 44:48 | Full Length CD
01. Traveler’s Shave Kit 3:17
02. It Begins Well 3:10
03. The End of the New Country 2:34
04. All Else Fails 3:34
05. Sunlight’s Revenge 0:59
06. Punishing Good Deeds 3:36
07. Fall-in-Love-to Song 3:12
08. Red Jacket Orchards 4:15
09. Temporary Speed Zone 3:13
10. Life is Full of Surprises 2:32
11. General Winter 0:44
12. The Town Fires 3:01
13. Carne Asada 3:17
14. I Don’t Have the Stomach 3:53
15. Growing Circles 3:37